Dinner May 20 - Rabbit and Mushroom Pie

Dinner May 20 - Rabbit and Mushroom Pie

Dinner at last! This rabbit and mushroom quiche was delicious…maybe my favorite dish on the whole trip.

 

 

 

 

Powerful lions hold up the bridge outside my hotel room

Powerful lions hold up the bridge outside my hotel room

View from my room at St Petersburg’s Istoriya Hotel overlooks a stunning pair of lions holding up the bridge over the Griboyedov Canal.

 

 

 

 

At the Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory in front of statue of the founder

At the Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory in front of statue of the founder

Day 2 May 21 Here I am at the Rimsky-Korsakov St Petersburg State Conservatory. It was founded in 1862 by composer Anton Rubinstein sitting behind me. Graduates include names like Pytor Tchaikovsky, Sergey Prokofiev,  George Balanchine and many others. In 2012 the conservatory will celebrate its 150thanniversary. Why am I here?…to judge the first Moscow Ballet-Rimsky-Korsakov Exhibition with Oleg Vinogradov. More on that tomorrow!

